Prizes and Awards

Entries must be received by July 1, 2023

Each year Phi Alpha Theta awards two $1,000 grants for books published in the field of history. The author must be a member of Phi Alpha Theta. The awards are as follows:

• One award of $1,000 for the Best First Book
• One award of $1,000 for the Best Subsequent Book

Book entries must be published from August 1, 2022, to June 30, 2023, to be eligible for the 2023 Award.

Previous recipients of Best Subsequent Book Awards are not eligible to participate in the competition.

Submit six (6) printed copies (e-book and PDF submissions will not be accepted) of each book along with the completed Book Award Application 2023 to:

Book Award Committee
Phi Alpha Theta History Honor Society
University of South Florida
4202 East Fowler Avenue, SOC107
Tampa, Florida 33620-8100

Fax:      (813) 974-8215

It is the responsibility of the applicant to ensure that all required documentation is received by the competition deadline. Incomplete applications or those submitted after the deadline or by individuals whose membership in Phi Alpha Theta cannot be verified will not be considered for the competition.