Prizes and Awards

Entries must be received by March 1, 2024

Phi Alpha Theta encourages student members to apply for one of three (3) graduate scholarships (applicants will be considered for all three). To be eligible, members must be entering graduate school for the first time in fall 2024 and must be pursuing a Master’s degree in History or Library Science-Archives.  Students currently enrolled in a graduate program are not eligible to apply.  Applicant must be a verified member of Phi Alpha Theta.

  • The A. F. Zimmerman Scholarship of $1,250
  • The Thomas S. Morgan Memorial Scholarship of $1,000
  • The William E. Parrish Scholarship of $1,000

Submit a copy of your completed Graduate Scholarship Application and all supporting materials
either electronically via email to or by mail to:

Graduate Scholarship Committee
Phi Alpha Theta History Honor Society

University of South Florida
4202 E. Fowler Ave SOC107
Tampa FL 33620-8100

Fax:         (813) 974-8215

Only one application per scholarship. Previous scholarship winners are not eligible.
It is the responsibility of the applicant to ensure that all required documentation is received by the competition deadline. Incomplete applications or those submitted after the deadline will not be considered for the competition. Applicant must be a verified member of Phi Alpha Theta at the time of application.